‘Time Between’…

Looking at other people’s art is inspiring…
Looking at other people’s art is stimulating…
Looking at other people’s art is also intimidating…
I want to feel the inspiration…
Rather than the trepidation…
The latter hurts…
It is uncomfortable…
It just blurts…
I am not good enough…
I am wasting my time…
I cannot really paint…
I cannot really write…
And this is silly even if I make it rhyme…
STOP!…making art she says…
I cannot, I say…So…
All I can do…is just pray…
Stay and Play…that’s what all the books say…
But some days are just so hard…
And the words and pictures do not appear…
They are buried in my mind somewhere and are so not clear…
They’re just not here…
It is scary to think that my imagination has lost it’s zest…
How do I know it’s just at rest?
Wake up I say! Wake up! And…Again…
All I can do is pray…
So pray…I do…
Asking for enthusiasm and inspiration and peace…
Please I say…
Help me…
A sign from you…
Just a little something to move me forward…
I know if I do my little part…I could be on my way…
And here, I do not want to stay…
And again…I am told to just pray…
So this is my prayer…
Thank You…I say…
Sincerely,
For This Day…

Thanks to Kate for input on title…

Thanks to Corrine and her beautiful art for inspiration…

‘Rebirth’…12″x12″ canvas…9 squares of 4″x4″…can be moved and mixed up just like life…acrylic…mixed media…By Karen Lee…

9 each of 4"x4" canvas...acrylic...mixed media...

39 thoughts on “‘Time Between’…

  1. Karen, you hit the nail right on the head.
    I feel exactly the same way. Your poem touched me.
    But we have to remember God has blessed us all with different ways of expressing our gifts.
    Keep writing.
    By the way, how long have you been writing?

  2. Love your blog. So colourful and imaginative! Bookmarked it and will follow you often and tune in to your thoughts. I love the colours in my life and your colours. So fun!
    Love Pat

  3. When I clicked on your post for today, it didn’t come up on your site.
    Can’t find it anywhere.
    It came through on my email. So I’ll make my comment anyway.
    BREATHTAKING!!!!

    • Hi,
      Yes sorry about that…I love the painting but was not happy with the site pic so took it down for now…will redo soon…lots of idea’s to get down on paper…
      Thank You for your wonderful comment…

      • I thought I was losing my mind when I couldn’t find it. Looking forward to viewing your beautiful artwork again. How long does it take you to paint a piece? And what is the original size?

      • Well that is a loaded question…lol…They all take different times…I usually like a large format…generally at least 36″x36″ canvas or larger…I have two smaller ones now that I have been working on for a very long time…I have a harder time building enthusiasm in smaller surroundings…maybe a freedom issue…hmmm…

  4. Yes it sure is and sometimes that confuses the hell out of me because if I look at a piece and just love it, even if it’s something I don’t usually paint, I’ll think that I should do that and then it confuses me when it doesn’t work for me…(because it wasn’t my idea from my heart and then it never works)…even if you make it your own, it’s still not the same…I mean there are always exceptions to a rule but I find if it comes from within and my true feelings it usually finds a way to work…ahhh…sorry for rambling…hope that makes sense…after a while a painting takes on it’s own personality…then I have to find what works within that…

    • I feel much better knowing you feel the same way I do.
      To answer your P.S. — Too long. If the idea is flowing properly, I can draw a final copy that is 8″ x 8″ in about 4 hours. To paint, 20 or more hours. But I’m trying a new technique using Copic Markers to speed up the process, but the only problem is you can’t make a mistake. Yikes!

    • Oh, no. You’re terribly mistaken, LOL. The copic markers are like water colour, only darker. I ink the art first and if I choose the wrong colour or go outside the lines, poof, I have to start all over. Was that yikes, for the time it takes?

      • The markers are new too me. One end has a brush at the end and at the other a larger tip that looks like a marker. They are refillable, but the markers are expensive. About $4.00 a piece. I only have 90 out of 400. But there is no mess to clean up.

      • Go on line to view them at Curry’s Art Stores. They are the cheapest. Michael’s sells them, but their inventory is limited. Curry’s also delivers them free for a minimum order.

      • Will do that…I went to the Curry’s site a little while ago and tried to do some ordering but could not figure it out…wasn’t workin for me that day…I will have another look…Thanks…

Leave a Reply

